New at Medium!

Cristina Moreno Medran
2 min readJan 24, 2018

Hello, Medium audience!

I’m new here but I think I’m gonna get on well with this.
To be honest, I was a bit sceptical about Medium, don’t really know why… I understood that this can become my personal blog and that I can link it to my personal website, so making the perfect couple! I’ll try to post on a regular basis but can’t promise anything.

Hopefully, these posts will help someone somewhere.

Firstly, let me introduce myself:

My name is Cristina Moreno, I live in Sabadell (close to Barcelona) and even though I studied design management, I’m now into coding.

I finished a Bachelor in design management in 2015 and have been working since then, well, working and learning at the same time.
Since then, I’ve worked for a couple of agencies while I’ve been learning about SMM, SEM, SEO and a lot of other acronyms🎓
I even underwent a course on CSS without any knowledge of HTML…

After 2 years I decided I wanted to code, that was the missing skill in my portfolio and was determined to learn it no matter what 💪🏻

So, after some research, I found out that Ironhack was the best choice in Barcelona for the following reasons:

  • Good balance between price, course time and subject content.
  • Had good networking and good average salary after the course.
  • A lot of “after class” stuff and extra resources.
  • Well located.
  • Pre-work and students pre-selection.
  • The campus manager (Marc Collado) was very nice and convincing when I went to ask for info.

In addition to that, Wallapop was collaborating with them by offering 100 scholarships just for women (Between Barcelona and Madrid)!
I didn’t think twice, just went for it…
And, guess what?! I did it 😱! I got a more than helpful discount of 2.500€. Yes, ladies, it’s real.
And I heard that this is going to happen again this year so, if you are doubtful or not confident enough, listen: YOU DEFINITELY HAVE TO DO IT! LIKE… REALLY, you never know… In my case, I didn’t know anything related to javaScript and everything was so new and uncertain but all the effort was definitely worth!

If you wanna know more about the Wallapop — Ironhack scholarship selection process, read this post.

So, here I’m now, I finished the Bootcamp at Ironhack on the 18th of December and since then, I’m proud to say that I have (almost) built my own portfolio website, I have learnt a little bit of React and have done some job research.

This is all for now, folks.

www.cristinamoreno.dev

--

--

Cristina Moreno Medran

After noticing that the relationship between designers and developers is a struggle, I decided to shift gears and try developing end user interfaces by myself.